The latest round of the VSCC Formula Vintage series took place at Mallory Park in Leicestershire, for the Bob Gerard Memorial Trophy meeting. The short circuit is only 1.35 miles, consisting of an oval circuit with two straights and a tight hairpin off one end of the oval.

The twelve race program had over 120 competitors taking part. The first race was late morning, before qualifying had even finished. It was a scratch race for pre-war cars (VSCC Set 5). Michael James was first past the flag in his Riley 12/4 TT Sprite Rep but was given a 10 second penalty after the race which dropped him to 3rd. This gave victory to the little yellow Austin 7 Special race car of Christian Pedersen after a close battle with Mike Painter in his MG Kayne. After this race the track layout was modified for the Morgan three Wheeler race which utilised the chicanes. They qualified before the lunch break and raced straight after the break. Unlike all the other forms of historic motor sport, the Morgans run with a passenger or ballast. It was Bill and Maggie Tuer who came through to win in their 1932 Morgan 3 wheeler Jap 8/80, with early leader Hamish Bibby and Mia Weston 2nd in their 1933 Cap 8/80.

After the bales had been removed from the circuit to indicate using the chicanes for the Morgans, the next race was for Vintage Racing Cars (VSCC Set 1). Charles Gillett in a Frazer Nash Supersport was the early leader but Tom Walker in his Amilcar Hispano Special won by just 1.7 seconds from Gillett.

The Standard & Modified Pre-war cars (VSCC Set 3) race saw Tim Kneller soon take the lead in his Riley TT Sprite to win the Mallory Mug, chased hard all the way to the chequered flag by Sue Darbyshire in her Morgan Super Aero three wheeler. She finished just 0.56 of a second behind.

Next on track was the unique Edwardian handicap race for the Dick Baddiley and Edwardian Racing Trophies. Duncan Pittway had entered the 1911 Beast of Turin but unfortunately was not able to take part in the race. The winner of the Dick Baddiley Memorial Trophy was Roger Twelvetrees in his 1910/1911 Wolseley 16/20. The 1911 Scat Racer driven by Andrew Howe-Davies was 2nd and 3rd place went to Rob Hubbard in a 1911 Sunbeam, which was similar to the car that Dick Baddiley drove in the first Edwardian race at Mallory Park in 1991.

Race 6 was a Scratch race for pre-war cars (VSCC Set 5). Julian Grimwade was a convincing winner in his 1934 Frazer Nash Single Seat. Chasing him all through the race was Rodney Weber in his 1934 Wolseley Hornet Special.

There was only a small entry for the FJHRA/HSCC Silverline Historic Formula Junior race. Peter De La Roche was a clear winner of the John Taylor Memorial Trophy in his 1959 Lola Mk2 after the race was re-started after a red flag. Tony Pearson won class A in his Bandini FJ and Hans Ciers took class H in his Mallock Mk3.

This was followed by a Handicap race for pre-war cars (VSCC set 6). It was won by Richard Iliffe in his 1934 Riley Elf, who beat Julian Grimwade in the Frazer Nash Single Seat by over 3 seconds.

The title race of the meeting, the Bob Gerard Memorial Trophy race for Pre-1961 Racing Cars  (VSCC Set 2). was out next. It was a fantastic race with Duncan Ricketts in the Alta 2 litre fighting off the Cooper Bristol Mk II of Steve Russell for the whole race. Russell was the first post-war car and won the Robert Ashley Trophy. The first unsupercharged pre-war car and winner on handicap was Rupert Mann in the Riley Special.

Race 10 was another handicap race, this time for Pre-War cars (VSCC Set 6) which saw a convincing victory for the Burghley Trophy by George Parkinson in his Austin AD Tourer by over 30 seconds from Mike Painter in the MG Kayne.

The final invited series race of the day, the 500 Owners Association race for Formula 3 (500) racing cars followed. The honour of victory went to Xavier Kingsland in his Staride Mk3 who beat Darrell Woods Cooper Mk12 by just 0.83 of a second after 15 laps.

The final race of the day was a Special Pre-War sports cars (VSCC Set 4) race which saw Edward Williams win the Mallory Park Trophy in his Frazer Nash Super Sports from Patrick Blakeney-Edwards in a similar Frazer Nash Super Sports.


By Simon & Janet Wright.

About the author:

Continue reading